IAM, Industry Leaders Unite for Safety

IAM District 141 this week held its annual Safety Conference in Las Vegas. The conference brings together union leaders and activists, airline representatives and workplace safety experts from around the nation to discuss workplace safety.

“Safety has improved, and will continue to improve,” President Mike Klemm said. “Obviously, our members coming home, and the company’s employees coming home, the same way they went to work, is crucial to both the company and the union. Until we arrive at the day where nobody is getting hurt on the job, we will always strive to improve safety.”

Throughout the conference, speakers repeatedly underscored the importance of front-line workers actively partnering with company-based safety teams. Union activists and leaders were quick to acknowledge the need for well-planned company-led safety programs and training, but insisted that these programs alone are not enough. Worker-led programs and front-line safety reporting are also needed.

District 141 President Mike Klemm praised these partnerships, citing programs such as the GSAP reporting system and the IAM safety tracking system as “Union Safe.”

To view full story, click here

The post IAM, Industry Leaders Unite for Safety appeared first on IAMAW .

Maryland Machinists Who Care for Veterans Ratify First Contract

Congratulations to new IAM Local 4 members at Charlotte Hall Veterans Home (HMR of Maryland) who came together to ratify their first agreement.

IAM Local 4 members fought hard to get an agreement. Members braved the cold weather to protest previous substandard offers from the company. The members stood in solidarity during this long process and got a contract with generous increases in wages and benefits. This contract will allow members to continue to provide the best care possible for America’s veterans.

“This is a great victory for the IAM, the Territory, and District, Local 4,” said Eastern Territory General Vice President Jimmy Conigliaro Sr. “My congratulations to IAM Directing Business Representative Joseph Compher, IAM District 4 Business Representative Mark Duval, and a huge welcome to our members at the Charlotte Hall Veterans Home.”

“I am very proud of the Negotiations Committee who worked so hard and sat beside me for 10 months through some of the toughest negotiations I have ever been involved with,” said IAM District 4 Business Representative Mark Duval. “The committee knew what they wanted and would settle for nothing less. The committee refused to accept or recommend the company’s last and best offer, and with the help of many of the Local Lodges in District 4 stood out in the cold, on the front lawn of Charlotte Hall Veterans Home and demanded a fair contract.”

The post Maryland Machinists Who Care for Veterans Ratify First Contract appeared first on IAMAW .

Ohio Machinists Making Holidays Merry for Many

For the 13th year, Newark, OH IAM Local 1280, along with the Electrical Workers (IBEW) and the Glass, Molders, Pottery, Plastics and Allied Workers (GMP), bought and assembled 106 bikes, 14 tricycles, and helmets for the Salvation Army’s “Bikes for Kids” drive.

The tradition is carried on in the memory of deceased IAM member Dave “Stinky” Pugh, who along with his wife would donate several bicycles each holiday season to the program. The members, employed at fiberglass-manufacturer Owens Corning, raised money for the bikes through employee donations, contributions from other unions, local businesses and other organizations. Management has joined in by raffling off a vacation day, which has become a popular tradition in the effort.

“Thanks go out to all the members, of Local 1280, that not only donate money and time to make this a successful project, but also put the finishing touches on the bikes,” said President/Directing Business Representative T. Dean Wright, Jr. “A big thank you goes to our retirees, the other unions, and management at Owens Corning, who pitch in to see that this is a success each year.”

Over the years, the Newark team has assembled, and donated more than 1,200 bikes to the program. Nearly $7,000 was raised this year which includes a donation from Arboris, LLC.

“What a great thing to do for kids,” said Eastern Territory General Vice President Jimmy Conigliaro, Sr. “Helping children in any way is one of the most rewarding things union members can do in their communities. Providing them with the classic gift of a bicycle at a time when they might not otherwise receive any gifts is even more special. My personal thanks, and praise to everyone involved in this effort.”

The post Ohio Machinists Making Holidays Merry for Many appeared first on IAMAW .